Crazy Kit Kats: Turn Up the Heat!

Welcome to our last edition of Crazy Kit Kats. Once again, this flavor has been brought to us by John, who not only suggested the flavor but also bought it for me when I couldn’t find it. Thanks again, John!

IMG_3648

This is a pretty special one, too, because it takes a little preparation. The packaging says “purin aji”, or “pudding flavor”, which seems pretty vague, all things considered. I’m assuming it means vanilla pudding since I tried one of the snacks and its very heavy on the vanilla. And it’s actually not bad! I’d say even without the special preparation this is one of the better flavors I’ve tried.

IMG_3649

But what’s with the special preparation, anyway? What can you really do with a Kit Kat? Well, my friend, according to the instructions on the back, you can bake it in the oven! Apparently you can even use a toaster oven if that’s your style. Bet you didn’t know there’s such thing as a grilled Kit Kat!

Unfortunately I have neither an oven nor a toaster oven. But I do have a little grill in my stove for cooking fish!

IMG_3657

I’m sure it’ll do in a pinch. I mean, what could possibly go wrong, right?

IMG_3658

Uh-oh. Apparently what can go wrong is that you can wind up with a wretched puddle of melted chocolate and wafer.

Hmm. Maybe the microwave?

I guess I have to try, but already I’ve hit a snag here. See, I don’t really understand what all of the buttons on my microwave do. Sure, they heat things up, but there are no number buttons that I can distinguish. All that’s on there are pictures of bread (which makes toast, and also makes the plate roughly as hot as the surface of the sun), sake, a squid, and what I assume are vegetables.

IMG_3660

Usually I just hit the sake button when I want to heat something up and it seems to work fine. Here goes!

IMG_3662

Hmm. This didn’t turn out much better. I guess the microwave’s not the way to go, either? According to the packaging, the bars are supposed to get a delicious-looking, crispy golden brown shell but I think it’s safe to say I failed to achieve that look.

How about the taste, though? Well, trooper that I am, I sampled half a bar from each heating method and I can say unequivocally that they’re nothing short of miserable. Perhaps unsurprisingly, melted Kit Kats taste exactly like…well, melted Kit Kats. I’m sure if you have a proper oven they’re a lot better, but the ones I came out with just taste like sadness and failure.

My one saving grace is that they do taste pretty good before they’re cooked, so I’ve still got a bag of these things that I can enjoy raw. Sorry, John, my kitchen is just unequipped to handle the pure glory of the grilled Kit Kat.

2 thoughts on “Crazy Kit Kats: Turn Up the Heat!

  1. This post really made me laugh for some reason. I would never turn down an opportunity to “Grill” a KitKat.

Leave a comment